The passing of the SQ 788 in 2018 puts Oklahoma among the states where medical cannabis has been legalized. With this law in place, it allows diagnosed marijuana patients to use medical marijuana after they get a license from a licensed medical practitioner.
With the many types of research made, Oklahoma’s view of marijuana from a drug to a medicinal drug has allowed thousands of new patients to access it legally and efficiently. Below are some of the essential details you should know about the medical marijuana program, which guides to which states allow out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
Related Read: Things to Do in Oklahoma
Oklahoma MMJ Program
Do You Qualify For Medical Marijuana?
Any patient will only be eligible for Oklahoma’s medical marijuana program if he is above 18 years with valid Oklahoma residency identification, a passport, and a licensed physician commendation form. If the patient is below 18 years, he must have a caregiver who will submit his applications to the state to register themselves and make purchases for their clients. Doctors are obligated to make recommendations for their patients if they think that medical cannabis can be a good option for them; hence no qualifying conditions are set on the program.
Don’t Be On the Wrong Side of the Law.
Before you are allowed to own medical marijuana, you are supposed to be approved with the DOH. After you are approved, you will be issued your Oklahoma medical card, which will be sent to your mail within 14 working days after your registration and will remain valid for up to 2 years. After the two years of validity are over, all Oklahoma medical marijuana patients must renew their patient cards.
What quantity can I Possess
Medical marijuana can be purchased from any certified dispensary from the state. However, there are guidelines on how and what amount can be bought and qualify under legal possession. These guidelines are as follows:
- In public places, you can only possess up to 3 ounces of medical cannabis.
- At your private residence, you are only allowed to store up to 8 ounces of medical marijuana.
- You are allowed to grow up to 6 mature plants in your private residence.
- Up to 6 seedlings of the plants.
- You are on the right side of the law if you possess up to 1 ounce of medical marijuana.
- 1 ounce of concentrated marijuana.
- Lastly, you can possess up to 72 ounces of infused edibles.
You can always consult your dispensary to help you grow if you want to grow your medical cannabis at your residence.
In conclusion, there are common medical conditions in which medical practitioners often recommend their patients to use medical cannabis. Such conditions include anxiety, cachexia, cancer, inflammation, severe nausea, wasting syndrome, muscle spasms, or terminal illness. After you get your recommendation card, you can walk to the nearest dispensary and start purchasing your marijuana without any fear of being against the law.